Back at last!

Wow! I cannot believe it has been so long since I have posted on here, but now that I have conquered my exams and I am tasting the sweet freedom of summer, I have the privilege to revisit the blog (which I have been anxiously anticipating for months now).

So many things have happened since my last post! Here are some of the exciting things I can cross off of my bucket list:

I received an internship with a local news station, WOODTV8. I will be working with their women’s morning show, eightWest, and their women’s network, WOTV4. I am beyond excited to learn from all of the wonderful people I will be working with, and I can’t wait to get started (and you’d better believe I used this as an excuse for a minor shopping spree).

10035_161924055831_8191694_n

 

https://www.facebook.com/eightwestonline?ref=stream

eightWest covers almost anything that has to do with lifestyle, so this is right up my alley! From checking out new wedding boutiques to speaking with doctors on topics regarding women’s wellness, eightWest is on it. I am beyond excited to learn from these amazing women!

Summer classes. Okay, this once isn’t quite as exciting, but I can actually make it mildly entertaining. Calvin College (being the liberal arts school that it is) requires its students to take 3 PE classes. My first PE class was Nordic Walking (permission to laugh granted). Although I thoroughly enjoyed strolling through the beautiful neighborhoods around campus and discussing the way I would decorated the houses with two of my close friends, my parents weren’t exactly thrilled to be paying thousands of dollars for me to trip over metal sticks for PE credit. So, I came up with a solution: I would take a PE credit through the local community college to save some money.

Not having enough time to take an on-campus class, I signed up for (get rid for it….drumroll….) ONLINE YOGA. Apparently that’s a thing. This seemed laughable, until I realized that my book was EIGHTY DOLLARS. EIGHTY! For an online yoga class! Oh, and I forgot to mention the fact that I will be logging my nutrition and doing volunteering in order to “spread good karma”. Oh boy. I won’t even begin to unleash the amount of sass and sarcasm I have brewing within me on the irony that this has created, so we will leave it here: I tried to cut corners for PE…eighty dollar book…Karma.

Modeling. This one was so much fun! A couple weeks ago, I got to model pajamas for an up and coming clothing line, Duffield Lane. Duffield Lane boasts stores in EGR and Holland, Florida, and New York. I had too much fun trying on their adorable pajamas (which are SO comfortable, and I highly encourage everyone to take a look at their website! Once the pictures from the shoot I got to be a part of are posted, I will be sure to share it on the blog!) Duffield Lane is cute, comfortable, and something that you would’t be embarrassed to be spotted wearing if a friend popped in the house while you were wearing your pajamas (Side story, today I had just rolled out of bed when a mother of one of my classmates came over, and I fled to the basement because of my mismatched and embarrassing pajama combination. I actually barricaded myself down there until she left. Time to invest in some Duffield Lane Pjs!). If you want to check out their site, click here: http://duffieldlane.com

The photo shoot was so much fun, and at the end of it, the created of the line was gracious enough to give me one of their new “Coral Dottie” tanks. They have also broadened from pajamas, so I got to wear cute nautical tops and dresses! I can’t wait until the new materials are posted so I can show you how cute the rest of their line is! Fun fact: Jamie Loeks, the creator, uses mainly coral and navy throughout her line. These were actually her wedding colors! To learn a little more about Jamie and the company, click here:  http://tulleweddingskirts.com/2014/03/05/real-weddings-qa-with-jamie-of-duffield-lane/

There’s a mini update about what life has been like, and I can’t wait until I can sit down and take the time to dig a little deeper into the topics mentioned above! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

