Day 18

There are some days that are long, some days that are short. There are some days that drain us, and there are some days that we come home and sit down, letting out a sigh of pride at the tasks we completed, or the things we have learned.

Today was the latter.

Today I cut and ingested videos for WOODTV’s web. It felt liberating to learn how to do something; it made me feel competent and independent. After I had that under my belt, during my lunch break, I started writing the outline to a story I am working on. I already shot the story, but I got to use the creative part of my brain (which is all of it, because I don’t have an ounce of left brain in my body).

I love to write, so it felt so good to roll some words onto my notepad in smooth black ink as I munched on my Asian Salad.

Believe it or not, the fun didn’t stop there. I had the opportunity to do some editing after I sorted through some shirts to toss out at the park party. I sat down while my supervisor, Joy, taught me how to add in B roll (filler footage that helps tell the story) to a story about adorable old ladies who love quilting as they hang out and chatter cheerfully. I had so much fun learning how to do something new, and it helped build my confidence. I love to learn new things, so I really enjoy having a new skill under my belt, even if it’s only a mild understanding of it.

After this, I got to do one of my favorite things: BRAINSTORM. I don’t just brainstorm. I brainmonsoon. I braintornado. I love to use my imagination to generate ideas. I got to go through some magazines and come up with some ideas for segments and packages on eightWest. I also got to think up some potential clients for the show. I had so much fun bouncing ideas off of my supervisor when I found something that seemed like it would captivate some audience interest.

When I left work today, I felt happy and successful, and I am very grateful for such a wonderful day filled to the brim with learning and activity.

So, without further ado, here’s what I learned today:

1. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. Even if you feel annoying, ask a million questions. It’s better to feel like a pest and get the job done right than to just sit there in silence and feel stumped and frustrated.

2. Ask for as many things to do as you can. This way you will never be bored, and you will always stay busy, proving that you aren’t afraid of a little work. Plus, the people in your office will appreciate your willingness to help.

3. Make a list of goals that you would like to accomplish. Today Joy had me email her a list of the things I would like to do before I leave eightWest. Today I got to do one of them: editing. Your supervisor (if they are fabulous, like mine) wants you to succeed, so he/she will work to help you achieve any goals that you would like to accomplish. Just remember that your supervisor can’t read your mind, so it’s important that you verbalize your wishes to them, even if you have to do it multiple times; they are busy trying to do enough already, so it might slip their mind if you ask to do something once in passing. Be sure to take the initiation in getting started. Approach your supervisor and ask them when you can get started on the task you would like to charge into! Once you express your interest and enthusiasm, they will be willing and excited to help you achieve your goals!

Sincerely,

Kelly

Leave a Reply

