Day 20

 

Park Party #3 took place in Ionia and doubled as an event with the Ionia Free Fair! Even though it was quite a drive, everyone was pretty excited for this park party. The people from Ionia have been known as some of the most grateful and kind Park Party guests, and we were excited to meet some new people in a totally differential location. 

I was so excited about my task for this party! Brad, a fellow intern, and I were given the task of putting together an internship video for the park party. I made a checklist of the different shots we wanted to capture, and Brad used my DSLR to capture them. One of the requests Maranda had made was to have every intern take a selfie at their park party position. Brad and I really got to enjoy the park party, because we were able to run around and experience every aspect of it. I loved being able to talk to the people, like when I was able to chat with a group of little girls sporting sparkly princess dresses as they patiently waited in line for the inflatable obstacle course. 

This had to be the most fun that I have had at a park party. We started off by blowing up and tying balloons, and we turned this into an impromptu dance party. We pretended to swim in the balloons, and we rubbed them on our hair to make staticky memories.

IMG_4678

The action continued when we found a baby bunny rabbit relaxing in the shade provided by Maranda’s car. I, being the avid snacker that I am, just so happened to have some carrots in my big brown purse (Evan calls it the “Hermione purse”, because like in the book/movie, I can continuous pull out everything you could ever imagine from a seemingly small bag). I handed the carrot to Maranda’s daughter, Ally, and we tried to cajole the bunny out from under the vehicle…however, the little bunny was not biting…literally. Homegirl was not amused. Finally, Heather, one of the producers spotted the bunny, squealed with delight, and rushed over to pick it up and cradle it lovingly as the bunny squealed with delight…or perhaps for mercy. 

IMG_4682 IMG_4683

Once the festivities kicked up, Brad and I ran around capturing every candid moment that we could spot. We took selfies with Ronald McDonald, the Craig’s Cruisers mascot, and McGruff the Safety dog. I had a blast chatting happily with park party guests and running around capturing their best moments; it felt like a scavenger hunt, as I brainstormed and checked things off of my list as Brad captured them. 

IMG_4698 IMG_4704 IMG_4708

Once the park party wrapped, we hopped in the van and made our way back to the station. This drive was the best park party van experience that I have had. We stopped for ice-cream at McDonald’s, Maranda’s treat, and then continued with some quality conversation. The van was abuzz with laughter and countless rounds of the question game. We shared the way that we had met our significant others, embarrassing moments, chattered joyfully about our favorite Disney movies, and quizzed each other with random inquries, such as, “What was the best date you ever went on?”. By the end of the ride, everyone was laughing, happy, and feeling filled with joy and contentment. Someone said, “This was the best park party ride yet, hands down”, and the rest of us agreed whole-heartedly. 

IMG_4695 IMG_4696 IMG_4701 IMG_4702 IMG_4669 IMG_4672

If I learned anything today, here’s what it is:

1. Make the most of every single moment. CELEBRATE every little thing. If there is a happy dance that needs to be done, do that happy dance! If you want to be goofy and have fun, do it! The job becomes so much more enjoyable when you are fully yourself, and it will brighten everyone else’s day too. Today I was completely out of my shell, and I have never enjoyed a day of my internship more. This was one of the best days that I have had in a really long time, and I am so excited for the next park party. I genuinely hope to take this advice into every day of my life. 

Leave a Reply

