Day 23

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but today was the very last Maranda Park Party of the summer. After weeks of filling up balloons, tying strings, and smiling on at kids who gleefully collected their free prizes, the festivities have wound down. 

The final park party took place in Battle Creek. At the beginning, I got to walk around with Mallory, one of the interns I met this summer, and help the different businesses set up their booths. We had fun chatting about our boyfriends while we munched on free red delicious apples, courtesy of the Meijer booth. 

I got to work the Fire Escape station during the park party, which means that I gave people a lot of surveys about fire safety, along with quizzing them on a few questions about their favorite aspects of park parties. I was surprised by how many people were so up to date on their fire safety knowledge, only to learn later that many of them had experienced losses due to fires. Some of them had lost their homes, and some of them had even suffered the painful loss of a family member. I was blown away to hear these sad stories, and it really opened my eyes to a community that has felt a lot of hurt. 

The park party went by pretty quickly, and before I knew it, we were all piling into our big family van and driving over to get some ice cream. I got some delicious blueberry marble and lemon chiffon ice cream…it was fantastic; everything tasted so fresh and delicious! On the way back to the station, I was able to quiz the driver (a former producer) on the ins and outs of the new room. It was cool to hear the inside scoop on the positives and negatives of the business. 

My park party experience was a wonderful one. I am really going to miss spending so much time with all of the other interns! I really hope i can go back at some point to volunteer next year! 

Leave a Reply

