Celebrating Macy

Today, Macy Hoekwater celebrates her 23rd year of life.

In other words, today is kind of a big deal.

I met Macy when I opted to go potluck in Calvin’s roommate pairing system. Macy and I were assigned to be roommates. After receiving an email stating the name of my roommate, I quickly began an extensive stalking session of Macy’s various social media accounts.

IMG_7783

It didn’t take very long for me to decide that we’d get along. We both had photos of friends and family, and it was obvious from her profiles that her faith was fundamental to her daily life.

IMG_6223

I shot Macy a Facebook inbox, asking her if we could meet up before school started, and she agreed (fortunately). Fast forward a few weeks later, and a cute little black jeep appeared at the bottom of my steep driveway, and out popped a friendly stranger sporting a springy green cardigan and patterned TOMS.

IMG_3963

Macy harmonized to a Jason Mraz song as we drove to Panera together, where we discussed everything from hobbies to color coordinating our comforters. Sitting across from Macy in that Panera booth, I thought to myself, “Yep. I like this girl.”

Over the past 4 years, Macy has surpassed my expectations. I went into the roommate pairing system expecting to meet someone I would cohabit with for a year, but I ended up finding a lifelong friend who I lived with for all 4 years of school.

IMG_3524Macy is a loyal, enthusiastic, caring, clever friend who blesses others with her love for Christ and her desire to make others feel seen. Anyone who interacts with Macy will know that she genuinely cares about them and wants them to feel comfortable and included. She does this through her innate ability to infuse infuse good-clean-fun into any situation. Need an example? During a Christmas party thrown by our house (The Mansion), the girl popped out from behind the couch with her guitar, rocking an ugly Christmas sweater and serenading the guests with T-Swift’s “Our Song” until the room was filled with the voices of college students scream-singing the glorious throwback.

But Macy is more than just the fun friend, she’s the wise friend. I have often sought Macy’s advice when I knew I should hear from someone who would tell me what I needed to hear rather than what I wanted to hear. Macy specializes in playing the role of devil’s advocate, and has consistently provided the voice of reason I need to make well-rounded decisions. Macy is a friend who will keep you accountable while keeping your best interest in mind.

IMG_5263

4 years ago, I met a stranger who turned into a roommate, who turned into a friend–a friend who has brought wisdom, accountability, joy, humor, tough love, companionship, and vibrancy to the lives of so many over the past 23 years. And that’s something worth celebrating.

Happy Birthday, Macy–you’re a gift.

Leave a Reply

